Legal advice!

• Hey - turns out IRC is out and something a little more modern has taken it's place... A little thing called Discord!

Join our community @ https://discord.gg/JuaSzXBZrk for a pick-up game, or just to rekindle with fellow community members.

munkZ

Jun 7, 2001
England
hye, just had this email lol:

I am an attorney with Madison Square Garden L.P. ("MSG"), owner of the above referenced trademark.

Your registration of the domain name LETSGORANGERS.COM (the “Website”) has come to our attention. The Website contains the phrase “Lets Go Rangers!” with a New York City street sign in the background, indicating a reference to the New York Rangers. (A print out of the Website is enclosed with the hard copy version of this Letter).

MSG own registrations in the United States, the U.K. and other countries for various “New York Rangers” trademarks (collectively “Rangers Trademarks”). The New York Rangers are often, in every day speech, referred to simply as the “Rangers” particularly in conversations about hockey. As a result of our long use and extensive promotion, the Rangers Trademarks are well-known among the public and are a source of inestimable goodwill to us.

Your registration and use of the domain name LETSGORANGERS.COM infringes our exclusive rights to the Rangers Trademarks and damages the associated goodwill. Such infringement is actionable pursuant to the ICANN domain name dispute policy, as well as under United States Federal and State law. Your registration and use of LETSGORANGERS.COM violates section 43 of the U.S. trademark law. In particular, we draw your attention to the Cyberpiracy provision, section 43(d), which provides statutory damages under certain circumstances for the bad-faith registration of domain names. The U.S. Trademark law also provides for the recovery of your profits and MSG’s actual damages.