Android.

• Hey - turns out IRC is out and something a little more modern has taken it's place... A little thing called Discord!

Join our community @ https://discord.gg/JuaSzXBZrk for a pick-up game, or just to rekindle with fellow community members.

sneez

Jun 11, 2001
About to buy an Android phone, my eye fell on the HTC Desire HD. Which looks nifty.

Couple of questions, as I'm a total noob on this area.
What to watch out for? I just want a phone, and be on the bandwagon so I can update my Facebook to tell the world what I'm eating atm.

The sell guy said it has Android 2.2 on it, is this a good version? Aren't new versions coming out soon? (I've read about gingerbread or something?? no idea.) But I'm guessing the Desire HD can also run gingerbread.

So, any tips/hints you guys got when buying an Android? Also on the device, I guess the HTC Desire HD is pretty good? (battery length, performance, etc?) No idea on all those things, any help appreciated! :D

Thanks for the URL, I'm still confused though. It seems 2.3 got a lot nifty options which are neat, including power management and the lots, but HTC Desire HD Won't run 2.3 ? That's pretty shit then?

I'd probably wait for Samsung Galaxy S II or HTC Sensation as well. They will both be more powerful with dual core processors - No word on battery life though. The Samsung will also have NFC - don't know about the HTC, and both will have Android 2.3 Gingerbread, which indeed has nice improvements. The HTC will also have higher resolution. I think they're scheduled to be out in about a month.